The 7 Links Challenge


A while back i was browsing the Showcase section of WordPress.com forums and i came across something. Joseph Romano had posted the link to the 7 links challenge which he came across at problogger.net.
Darren Rowse at Problogger posted an interesting challenge… the 7 link challenge. Sounded like fun to me. So just thought of giving it a try. Here’s Darrens challenge:

The idea is to publish a post that is a list of 7 links to posts that you and others have written that respond to the following 7 categories. Your links should be to:

  1. Your first post
  2. A post you enjoyed writing the most
  3. A post which had a great discussion
  4. A post on someone else’s blog that you wish you’d written
  5. Your most helpful post
  6. A post with a title that you are proud of
  7. A post that you wish more people had read

phew.

My log:

First Post :
ENABLE/DISABLE HIBERNATE OPTION IN WINDOWS VISTA

I remember the just before i published my first post, i had visited the HP Service Centre in our college and i had asked the lady how to enable Hibernate option in Windows Vista Business. I wrote that post only so that i could refer to it in the future and enable/disable the hibernate option.

A post you enjoyed writing the most :
FLYING AROUND INDIA: AIRLINES AND AIRPORTS IN MODERN INDIA

I really enjoyed writing this post because the trip I mentioned in my post gave me all the points i needed to put to together to frame this post. The incidences which happened brought to my mind the grim reality of advancement. It highlighted the negligence at the time of planning which led to solving the previous problems  but raising serious new problems which often go unnoticed.

A post which had a great discussion
REMOVE RADIO FILES FROM SAN ANDREAS

Unfortunately i have not written any posts that have cultured a great discussion. Most of the comments i have received on my blog are simply ‘thanks’ and other compliments. But still, the only post which had some discussion was this post. The solution described in this post was not available anywhere on the internet and hence the visitors were overjoyed to have actually found something that worked. (My first reaction to drafting of this solution was similar). This led them to leave some comments and also give some helpful feedback.

A post on someone else’s blog that you wish you’d written
7 Links for Bloggers

I have not found much content on other blogs which i feel i wanted to blog and could have written about. Most of stuff i find is new to me or not in my league of writing. I like them but i don’t really feel i could have written them. This simple post could have possibly emerged from anyone’s head. Such a simple post, i really wanted to think of something like this. Hence, here.

Your most helpful post
HP BATTERY CHECK FOR WINDOWS 7

This post, a very simple one, was also unique on the internet when i published it. In fact, it was so simple that i never wrote it very seriously. But eventually i realized that the solution was only available on my blog and hence the HP support website was also linking to my blog. This continues to draw majority of the visitors to my blog till date.

A post with a title that you are proud of
ACHIEVING THE BEST FUEL ECONOMY FROM YOUR VEHICLE & NEW RUPEE SYMBOL: REBRANDING THE INDIAN CURRENCY

I would want to break the rule here. This category would have 2 of my posts. The first one – Achieving best fuel economy – i like because it was something which i really wanted and really changed my ways of driving. The second one – New Rupee Symbol – I like because i really look forward for this to happen.

A post that you wish more people had read
THE 2CV : HONDA’S SMALL INDIAN CAR AND THE EXPECTATIONS

Writing this post was difficult. The sources of correct information were very less and what i knew by experience i could not include much. I had to carefully see that i was not doing any damage. The predictions i made in the post about the vehicle came out to be 100% true when announced by the Company’s head later on. I had included the ‘importance for the company’ section which involved some research. But i never really found many people interest in this. ;P

Thanks for going through this.

If you read any of the posts above and would like to live a comment, please do that on that post itself.

And yes, share this with your friends if you liked it. You could also subscribe to my latest posts so that you get them direct into your inbox. (P.S. I would NOT send you any offers or garbage, i hate them myself)

Hope to see you around! ;P

Original Photo Credit (Some modifications were made later)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Comments
3 Responses to “The 7 Links Challenge”
  1. jaco223 says:

    Genobz

    Dude I had no idea you did a post on this. I’d never heard of your blog until l saw the pingback to your blog. i read problogger all the time, and thought Darren’s post and idea was awesome. Of course I gave full attribution to Darren, as you can see by the link back to the original source. I’m a bit confused by the date on your post July 14th. Anyway …I’m glad to see you posted the challenge as well. looks like an awesome blog you have hear. I’ll be stopping back to read some more of your stuff ….

    Continued Success…

    • genobz says:

      Hey
      Sorry for the confusion.
      The mistake i did was that i put the wrong publish date meaning i posted it into the past. 😛
      It was meant for 16th itself. and just like i mentioned in the opening line, i saw it from your post and found it fun enough to try it out. Full credits to him ofcourse.
      I came across your blog at showcase itself and found it pretty well. it was the 2-3rd time i was visiting that place so i was expecting your blog to a new one. But i found you already had a great blog in place.
      Cheers!
      Hope to see you around. 🙂

      • jaco223 says:

        Genobz …

        Nice to meet you …Glad u like the 7 link challenge …I thought it was fun. I bookmarked your 7 link challenge so i can go back and read ur posts ….glad to meet you dude …man check out problogger great site ….hope to see you around …

        Continued Success …

        Joe aka Jaco

Leave a comment